Movie Basics
Theatrical Trailer
Fun Features
Media Gallery
Movie Quotes
Classic Scenes
Trivia Test
DH Suggests
Video on Demand
DH Store

2010: The Year We Made Contact Movie Basics

Year of Release: 1984
Running Time: 1 hrs. 54 min.
MPAA Rating: G
Director: Peter Hyams

Screenwriter: Peter Hyams and Arthur C. Clarke
Producers: Julia Phillips
Studio: MGM/UA

2010: The Year We Made Contact Synopsis

Made 16 years after the original, this sequel to the Stanley Kubrick classic 2001: A Space Odyessy attempts to explain the mystery of the infamous Discovery flight, HAL's malfunctioning and the monolith. Roy Scheider plays Col. Heywood Floyd this time a perfectly good space move but no comparison to the genre shattering original.

2010: The Year We Made Contact Photo Gallery

Use the arrows below to view our 2001: A Space Odyssey Photo Gallery.

2010: The Year We Made Contact Cast

Roy Scheider - Dr. Heywood Floyd
John Lithgow - Walter Curnow
Helen Mirren - Tanya Kirbuk
Bob Balaban - Dr. R. Chandra
Keir Dullea - Dr. Dave Bowman
Douglas Rain - HAL 9000 (voice)

2010: The Year We Made Contact Awards and Nominations

1984 Academy Awards®

Best Art Direction (Nom)

Best Costume Design (Nom)

Best Makeup (Nom)

Best Sound (Nom)

Best Visual Effects (Nom)

Tribute to 2001: A Space Odyssey Home | Site Map | DH Home

2010: The Year We Made Contact

Dr. Chandra ( Bob Balaban ):

"Whether we are based on carbon or silcone makes no fundamental difference. We should all be treated with respect."

In 2010, what was the name of HAL's sibling computer?